Fitness

ugh, I forgot my fitness watch!

This morning I forgot my beloved new iWatch. I have been wearing mine religiously since Christmas. I love the fitness aspect of it. I used to wear, sometimes still do, a FitBit tracker. I feel that my day is better knowing how much or little I move. It makes me conscious of my movements throughout the day. I meant who wouldn’t love to know, they took 10,000 steps that day! Do you have a fitness watch you love? does it help you? are we addicted to technology? (probably).

here’s what happened…

woke up at 4:45 to attend a 5:30 am Camp Gladiator class. Mind you Merle, new 9 week old pitbull pup we got Saturday, cried for about an hour last night making our bed time later than usual. Therefore, the alarm came QUICK! Husband said he would wake up when I did so he could start the day with the pups. Got dressed, got Merle out of her crate – which had soaked puppy pads inside – which she was standing in (icky!), by now it is 5:15. I GOTTA GO! I grab a banana, fill my Yeti and quickly rush out the door. Half way through the drive, I notice I forgot my watch in the mixed of helping get Merle outside, clean up and get me together. For about 2 minutes I debated  “should I turn around?!”. Then I decided no, not worth it. Although now, I am sadden I didn’t. I feel that my whole workout wasn’t as good because I couldn’t check the time, calories, heart rate and steps.

This burning thought to turn around for a watch got me thinking…  why did I must have it? Why did I think that my workout counted more because I wore it? I shouldn’t be this attached to such a physical worldly object. My workout was great! I did not need this watch to tell me that I was doing a good job, or to post the final picture of what I “did” during my workout before most people woke up that morning. I need to be more mindful of my workouts. Listen to my body and not rely on something electronic to tell me so. Now don’t get me wrong, I love the technology of my iWatch. It provides me a sense of security when running, if I don’t take my phone. The series 2 iWatch can call 9-1-1 if needed, track my location while telling me distance, calories burned and time. With this lesson learned today, I will take in stride the days my steps and calories don’t get counted during my workout. Taking these days to listen more closely to my body!

For those wondering “what is Camp Gladiator?” (CG) check it out here: Camp Gladiator    I love CG, I attend multiple classes a week! It has changed the way I workout. I would high recommend this to anyone looking for a group workout class with lots of energy, great people and accountability.

Thanks for reading… Peace & Blessings –

E.W.

Leave a Reply

