Favorite Things

3 of my favorite things…

1Iced coffee – preferably Starbucks with light cream, unsweet. this has been my “go to” drink lately. You can get from your local Starbucks or buy the bottle in the store pre-made. I add a little half & half at home, so it is a light brown color. This is about ~30 calories for 24 oz (venti) compared to regular Starbucks drinks are anywhere from 200-500 calories. I do not count calories, as a Dietitian I feel this is not a way to live.  That’s probably another topic for later.

6ff94a2902d85743b718a852c52eb4e9_number-2-clipart-cliparts-co-clipart-number-2_625-833Mindy Kaling’s book – Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?  I just started this book as of the other night. I am only about 20 pages in and was already laughing. I really enjoyed her show The Mindy Project, on Hulu. I find her funny, amusing and very honest. The first chapter is titled “I Forget Nothing: A Sensitive Kid Looks Back.” In this she writes about her childhood and being chubby. My favorite line so far is “I am pretty happy with the way I look, so long as I don’t break a beach chair.” (Kaling, p.  20). I think that is a pretty good mantra, there is too much self hate out there. Enjoy life, and begin to love your body, as long as you don’t break your beach chair! I am attempting to read 1 book a month, if not more. I just finished a book called The Book Of Speculation. It is 2 different stories going on at the same time that eventually collide together. You can read more about it here: Book Of Speculation. You can also read/buy Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? here: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

 

images-2Kodiak Cakes:  I have heard a lot about these, but was unsuccessful in ever finding them. Until… ahhhh one day walking around Target there they were! About $5 a box, on sale. All you do is 1 cup of the mix with 1 cup of water for pancakes. For waffles, add about 1 tsp of oil. I have only tired the Protein Packed Crunchy Peanut Butter so far, it was fantastic. Primg_0980oviding about 14g of protein in the peanut butter mix, whole grains and ingredients you understand. From researching their website, they offer a lot more than just flap jack and waffle mix. They have a gluten-free option, muffin mix, granola, oatmeal and more. Visit their website here: Kodiak Cakes.

Here are some updated photos from the past few days — The girls are starting to enjoy each other (I think). Hazel has been exhausted almost every night from about an hour and half of play the past few days. Since her surgery 12 weeks ago, this is the first time since then she has been ‘allowed’ to be outside without a leash, play and run. I think she is really enjoying it as well as she is super sore. Merle is adjusting, lots of energy = lots of naps. Merle has still been crying when she put into her crate at night/when we leave. Evennnnttualllyy she will figure it out.

 

Peace & Blessings…

E.W.

Leave a Reply

